Healthcare Science Innovation Fellowship Candidates 2024

In collaboration with NHS England’s National School of Healthcare Science (NSHCS), Health Education and Improvement Wales (HEIW), the Academy for Healthcare Science (AHCS), Healthcare Science Cymru, and the Office of the Chief Scientific Officer for NHS England (CSO), the NIHR Devices for Dignity MedTech Co-operative (D4D) is delighted to announce the results of the Healthcare Science Innovation Fellowship applications.

We would like to thank all those who expressed interest in the Innovation Fellowship Programme and particularly to those who applied to the programme. The quality was very high and made for some difficult selection decisions.

We have accepted 8 Innovation Fellows and 1 Innovation Associate onto the current cohort, who started the programme on the 1st March 2024 for a period of 12 months. We believe that with each of their innovation projects aimed at reducing healthcare inequalities, each of the Fellows will develop significant knowledge and skills to deliver impactful future innovative healthcare technologies. We are delighted be to be furthering the career development of the selected Healthcare Scientists, who work across a range of disciplines and NHS hospitals in England and Wales.

The successful candidates, associated Trusts and Healthcare Science specialisms are listed below:
Dr Hatim Yusufali Ebrahim; Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust, England; Molecular Genetics
Dr Mark Hajjawi; York and Scarborough Teaching Hospitals, England; Clinical and Biomedical Science
Ms Nicky Hollowood; Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust, England; Biochemistry (Point-of-
Care Testing (POCT))
Miss Myurah Nathan; Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, England; Physiological
Mr Joshua Naylor; University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust, England; Radiotherapy Physics
Dr Can Zhou; Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, England; Valve Physiology
Mr Michael Cahillane, Welsh Blood Service, Wales; Transfusion Science
Dr Jonathan Howard; Morriston Hospital, Wales; Rehabilitation Engineering

Innovation Associate:
Ms Rabeea Siddiqui; University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust, England; Paediatric Cardiac